Taking Time to Celebrate Our People

(l-r) Elaine Danelesko, Joanne Leskow, Charles Webber

Mount Royal University’s annual Employee Awards ceremony recognizes the dedicated behind-the-scenes work of faculty and administrative staff in supporting learners to achieve their goals.

Two of our Continuing Education instructors received Distinguished Teaching Awards.

After a video presentation about instructor Joanne Leskow, Dean Charles Webber presented the award acknowledging her outstanding work in the classroom. Joanne has taught in the Leadership Development and Organizational Change Management program since 2009, as well as teaching corporate clients.

Joanne’s student Jose Bellorin noted in his nomination letter, “Joanne delivers a great experience. Her classes are very well-planned and interactive.”

Christina White Prosser, Scott McLean, Charles Webber
(l-r) Christina White Prosser, Scott McLean, Charles Webber

Instructor Scott McLean was recognized for his work with the Children’s Mental Health online program in Community and Health Studies.

In 2008 Scott was instrumental in updating the curriculum for the Children’s Mental Health program. He continues to teach several of the courses to students across Canada.

Scott was also part of the team that won the Effective Team Award for Indigenous Helping Practices, a new social work course that focuses on Aboriginal culture and providing connection to community elder as part of the helping process.

(l-r) Elaine Danelesko, Barb Lindsay, Dimitra Fotopoulos
(l-r) Elaine Danelesko, Barb Lindsay, Dimitra Fotopoulos

Barbara Lindsay, Administrative Assistant for the Business and Professional Education team, received a Distinguished Staff Award only a year after joining the faculty. Her colleagues’ nomination letter commended Barb’s “sparkly personality, generous attitude, astute professionalism and strong work ethic.”

As well, we were proud to acknowledge several long-serving Continuing Education employees.

30 Years

  • Elaine Danelesko

20 Years

  • Terry Dowsett

15 Years

  • Maureen Bray
  • Christine Schnurr
  • Christina White Prosser

10 Years

  • Dimitra Fotopoulos
  • Karen McCarthy

Congratulations to all of today’s award winners, and thank you to everyone who works to make the Faculty of Continuing Education and Extension a great place to work and learn.

 — photos by Krystal Hurt


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.